How to get your staff to treat customers like crap

20130729-213836.jpg

I saw this sign while I was waiting for my daughter to use the washroom in the employee area of a local drug store. I actually thought I must have misread it at first.

I strongly believe that people treat others the way they are treated. This sign does not bode well for wowing the customer. Obviously the store has a problem with employee theft, but there are better ways to deal with it than a pat down on the way out of work. If it were me, I’d feel a lot of animosity towards my employer, and that kind of strong emotion is hard to shake off. Being told I’m not trusted, but put on a happy face go out there and be awesome just doesn’t work.

With a little creativity, the management could likely make a big impact on morale and customer satisfaction.

Leave a Reply

