Mine my data, please

A few days ago we got a new dog. A three-year-old Springer Spaniel named Murphy. We got him from a rescue agency and did a lot of online searching and researching before we decided Murphy was the dog for our family.

A few days before Murphy arrived, we received in the mail a sample of a new dog food. I don’t recall ever receiving a dog food sample before, but there it was, just before our new pet arrived. I can only assume that somewhere along the way we registered on a pet search site that provided our data to a pet food company.

Some would be angry at this seeming unauthorized use of my private data. I, on the other hand, was thrilled. I got a free dog food sample three days before I got a new dog. How perfect is that? I look forward to the day when, because I gave enough people my data, all I receive are relevant marketing outreaches. When I open up my mail or click on an email, what I see is at least a little bit relevant to my lifestyle.

I tried the food on Murphy, by the way, and he loved it. So, I went out and bought a bag. Well done, Marketer. Thank you for mining my data. So much better than all those baby lotion samples I get now that my children are in school!

20111017-081250.jpg

Leave a Reply

